To Produce valuable patriotic citizens of future India


The Mudaliar Educational Trust

Padmashri N.D. Sundaravadivelu, the then Vice-chancellor of the University of Madras, the Veteran Educationist by laying the foundation stone for the starting of the Erode Arts College, on 24-11-1971, turned the day to be an important day in the annals of Erode. Erode, basically a city of trade in those days has later on become a hub of international market of turmeric and other agrarian products besides being a textile city and most popularly known the Texcity. Besides being a trade centre, this land is well known for the citizens of India, as a land of veteran freedom fighters, a land which produced the Great Mathematician, G. Ramanujan , of all times and in the days to come as well.

In early 1970s Educational Institutions in Erode were only few and sporadic and students from other parts did not have much opportunity to take up their studies in Erode and had to go faraway places, which they could not afford to. Education was available then, for the privileged few. This has made the mind of Thiru. R.A.N. Muthusamy Mudaliar who was deprived of the opportunity of pursuing Education even at the school level because of lack of transport and availability of schools nearby, that he would do something for the students who are hailing from socially and economically underprivileged sections, given an opportunity. This was deep rooted in his heart and soul, just as Abraham Lincoln of United States who got realized of what he felt in his childhood that he would dispense with the system of slavery.

It is the tireless effort of Thiru. R.A.N. Muthusamy Mudaliar along with likeminded people resulted in the formation of the The Mudaliar Educational Trust in 1971. Majority of the founder members of the Trust are Traders of handloom products and some of them are weavers. He with well known Educationalist and renowned politician Thiru. RANA K.V. Laxmanan paved the way for the emergence of Erode Arts & Science College. To mark their remembrance the statues of them are erected in the premises of the Institutions of The Mudaliar Educational Trust. The Trust has, as its main Agenda, the Starting of Educational Institutions, Arts, Science and Commerce, and Technical and Research Institutions with the noble objective of providing educational opportunities to students hailing from socially, economically underprivileged sections.

Erode Arts Colleges, which had its humble starting as an aided First Grade College affiliated to the University of Madras, with Pre-University course and B.A. Economics. With the starting of the Bharathiar University, the College remained as affiliated to Bharathiar University since 1982. In 1987 the College attained the Autonomous Status.

In view of the importance of the technology in the development process of the individual and the nation, and as envisaged in its objectives, the Trust started Erode Institute of Technology (Polytechnic College) in 1980 and Kamatchi Amman ITI in 1992, to provide ample opportunities for students in technological fields, so that students can become self-employable. The Mudaliar Educational Trust started another College i.e. Erode Arts College for Women in 1995 and the same College has been renamed as Dr. RANM Arts and Science College during the academic year 2004-2005, in fond memories of the Founder President Sir Chevalier Dr. R.A.N. Muthusamy Mudaliar and converted into a coeducation Institution.


Dr. R.A.N. Muthusamy Mudaliar10.10.1971 to 13.01.2000
Thiru. R.A.N.M. Arunachalam19.02.2000 to 27.03.2001
Thiru. N.M. Sundarar B.E07.05.2001 to 05.12.2005
Thiru. K.M. Dhandaphani16.05.2005 to 19.03.2013
Thiru. K.N. Murugesan01.03.2015 to 20.12.2015
Thiru. U.N. Murugesan29.12.2015 to 28.02.21
Thiru V. Rajamanickam01.03.2023 Onwards

Secretary and Correspondents

Thiru. O.A. Ramasamy B.A.,10.10.1971 to 25.08.1972
Thiru. R. Venkatachalam26.08.1972 to 07.07.1973
Thiru. C.K. Ramanathan08.07.1973 to 22.12.1979
Thiru. P.P. Sadasivam08.07.1979 to 14.06.1984
Thiru. RANA K.V. Laxmanan M.A., B.Com., M.B.A.,23.12.1979 to 03.08.2000
Thiru. M.M. Sundarar B.E.,24.08.2000 to 06.05.2001
Thiru. A. Shanmugam B.Com., M.B.A07.05.2001 to 03.07.2006
Thiru. K.K. Balusamy12.07.2006 Onwards


Thiru. A. Munusamy10.10.1971 to 23.05.2000
Thiru. K. K. Balusmay24.05.2000 to 11.07.2006
Thiru. L. Kumaravel27.07.2006 to 19.03.2013
Dr. A. Vijayakumar M.B., B.S., D.C.H.,01.03.2015 Onwards


Prof. K. Ramadoss M.A.,10.06.1972 to 31.07.1982
Prof. R.V. Ramakrishnan M.Sc.,01.08.1982 to 31.05.2000
Prof. S. Palaniappan M.Sc., M.Phil.,01.06.2000 to 31.05.2004
Dr. M. Arthanari Ph.D.,M.S.,01.06.2004 to 31.05.2006
Prof. P. Ramasamy M.Sc., M.Phil.,01.06.2006 to 06.03.2007 In charge
Dr. V. Venkatesawaran M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D.,07.03.2007 to 31.05.2011
Dr. M. Chandrasekaran M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D.,01.06.2011 to 31.05.2014 In charge
Prof. A. Elangovan M.Sc., M.Phil.,01.06.2014 to 31.05.2015 In charge
Dr. R. Venkatachalam M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D.,01.06.2015 to 10.02.2021
Dr. R. Sankarasubramanian M.Sc., PBDCSA, M.Phil., Ph.D., Ph.D.,11.02.2021 Onwards

To Produce valuable patriotic citizens of future India